Ohio State Navbar

Eng honored with Unverferth Research Award

At the 2005 departmental recognition dinner, Dr. Michael Grever announced that Dr. Charis Eng was selected to receive the Unverferth Research Award.

The Unverferth Research Award is given to a faculty member in the Department of Internal Medicine, selected (by the Committee of prior recipients) every year in recognition of outstanding research and extraordinary leadership in the Department’s research programs. Past recipients include Drs. Leier (1988), O’Dorisio (1990), Bouroncle (1992), Gadek (1994), Fass (1996), Wewers (1998), Para (2000), Nahman (2001), Binkley (2002), Caligiuri (2003), and Marsh (2004).

The award was named for Donald V. Unverferth, MD, Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiology, who died of CNS malignancy on January 8, 1988. His brief academic career was characterized by exceptional research (cardiomyopathy and heart failure), a vibrant exciting laboratory environment, active student and housestaff research programs, several teaching awards, a charismatic caring personality, and national/international recognition as a researcher and scholar. He was the perfect role model as an academic researcher and clinician.

Congratulations to Dr. Eng for this prestigious award!