Ohio State Navbar

Byrd Receives Freireich Award for Clinical Cancer Research

John Byrd, MD, director of the Division of Hematology with the OSUCCC – James, received the Emil J. Freireich Award for clinical cancer research during the MD Anderson-sponsored Foundations of Clinical Cancer Research event this month. Dr. Byrd holds the D. Warren Brown Designated Chair in Leukemia Research and is a member of the Experimental Therapeutics Program. 

The award recognizes Dr. Byrd for his research accomplishments with several therapeutic agents active in chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) and related leukemia and lymphoma. He is also a leader in laboratory and clinical investigation of immune-based therapies for the treatment of CLL and lymphoma.
For the second time since the award was established in 1997, an Ohio State cancer researcher received the award: Michael Caligiuri, MD, received the Freireich Award in 1998.