Ohio State Navbar

Cardiovascular Medicine Fellows Present at Ohio ACC Meeting

Adam PleisterThe 21st meeting of the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Cardiology was held Saturday, October 15, 2011 at the Conference Center at NorthPointe in Lewis Center.  The Division of Cardiovascular Medicine at Ohio State had strong representation in the educational portion of the meeting.  Eleven fellows submitted case presentations or clinical research posters including:  

  • Anish Amin
  • Khadijah Breathett
  • Paul Chacko
  • Mark Crandall
  • Ramesh Emani
  • Aaron Kay
  • Gina Mentzer
  • Kyle Pfahl
  • Adam Pleister
  • Sakima Smith
  • Abdul Wattar

Dr. Adam Pleister won second place in the Clinical Research Poster competition and Dr. Paul Chacko won first place in the Case Presentation Poster competition.

Physicians within the Division serve several leadership roles within the Ohio ACC.  Dr. David Orsinelli has been a member of the Ohio ACC Board of Trustees for the past 4 years and Dr. Laxmi Mehta currently serves as the Secretary/Treasurer.  Both are attending physicians within the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine. Dr. Sakima Smith serves as our Fellow-In-Training representative for the 2011-12 academic year.

The first annual "Richard P. Lewis Memorial Lecture" will be held at next year's chapter meeting.  Dr. Lewis was past president of the American College of Cardiology and was a faculty member and former director of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine at Ohio State.